3 Rules To Help End Cowardice and Fear


Self-Doubt
Self-esteem can be defined as someone who has a decent opinion of self without grandiosity. One who sees self as a good person, hard working, reliable, honest, friendly, and able to like and love him or herself for who they are. This does not mean that self-doubt will never crop up.

Having been a self-doubt sufferer for many years, it’s easy to imagine my life always being the same, doing the same old things and getting the same old results, never really getting me to where I want to be.

Except, I don’t want that kind of life, always looking for the easy option or the easy way out when things get tough, this time I’m willing to work for it, I want it that badly that I’ll put everything on the line for it. Read more

Which leads me to the present, you see I recently left my job, sold everything and moved in with my sister.  OK that’s kind of ‘normal’ I suppose but what if you’ve done it with not much in the bank account, a small amount of debt and bills to pay each month that HAVE to get paid! Read more

If you ask my family, my friends and most people who know me, they’ll say it’s kind of normal for me. I’ve never really been one to take things slowly or wait and suffer the pain of a horrific job for too long before I jump ship!  It’s almost a long standing joke with most of the people I know, I think they’ve just gotten used to it and don’t tend to ask questions anymore – I’m no longer taken seriously.

So how can a self-doubter be so free and easy with her life?

Firstly, I don’t take these decisions lightly I just know when something doesn’t feel right that perhaps the path I was on isn’t for me anymore, that it’s time to change direction.   The thing is, I don’t encourage people to throw it all in (OK maybe a little bit) but I do encourage people to try something new, push the boundaries and step out of their comfort zone.

When you do finally do something even a little bit risky you will, I guarantee, hit the self-doubt and uncertainty period after and I’m about to tell you 3 very important rules that I use to get me through those times – they work for me and I hope they work for you too! Read more

Rule 1 – Listen to your inner voice and forget the ‘well-meaning’ advice

Firstly, 99% of the people I know who have told me that ‘I’m mad’ or said things like ‘you’ll never make it’,  I can guarantee have never taken a risk in their life!  Its’ funny how the people who like to tell you how to do things, bring unsolicited advice to you never seem to practice what they preach.

Of course some of those people will actually have your best interests at heart, but you’ll find a lot of them will try to put you off or worse criticise you because they are probably wishing they had the guts to do it too.

Then there’s your inner voice, you know at your stillest moments, when you first wake up perhaps or in the middle of the night, trying to tell you something.   It’s up to you then whether you chose to ignore it or whether you really listen and take action.  The funny things is, it will keep niggling away at you until you do something so you might as well do it anyway, it will save you a lot of grief down the line.

Rule 2 – Always remember why you are doing this and then take action

Read more  How to Keep Going When Self-Doubt Creeps in: 3 Rules

About

Jim Woods is president of The Jim Woods Group. A management consulting firm. Go here to see his work www.jimwoodsgroup.com. He advises and speaks to organizations large and small on how to increase top line growth in times of uncertainty and complexity. Some of his speaking and consulting clients include: U.S. Army, MITRE Corporation, Pitney Bowes, Whirlpool, and 3M. See more at his website www.jimwoodsgroup.com.

Posted in Success and Abundance

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.