What If I Told You Diversity Has Little To Do With Race?

1507845_10152447461164606_654323824_n

When my kids were small there was an event that would inevitably teach me volumes. We entered the mall at Christmas to purchase secret Santa gifts. My daughter went with my wife. The three boys with me.

Our parking deck opened to the top level. We walked to the stairs. As we approached the bottom there were two women with clip boards engaging with passerby’s. As I approached her she glanced towards me then turned her attention to someone else. Well I was dismayed. I stepped closer and again she ignored me. Deciding I the diversity consultant would teach my children a valuable lesson I decided we would go to the mall manager’s office and jut give him a bit of my mind. After all there shouldn’t be any racial prejudices. Turning the manager;s door I thought perhaps I should tell the “instigator” my concerns so she would learn her lesson.

I with my little band i tow walked back meandering through this and that. She looked at me again and turned her back. Hmmmm. Strategically I inched closer. My youngest son saying “Dad, maybe we’d better not.”

With her back turned I stepped in. Just as I was about to give her a piece of my mind I could see as she spoke to another person what was on her clip board. It read, Women’s Breast Cancer Detection center.” Looking to my left and right I saw she was only speaking to women. When she turned I smiled and then asked if I may have information for my wife.

Do you see the lesson? There is much to be learned from every situation if we seek it.

In the case of diversity. I was raised in the south where I literally picked and chopped cotton. I went to my mother to sit in the back of the room the post office etc. I have learned over the years that some times people just don;t like me. Not my race. Now, I could go on. But I think you get the message. We see what we want to see but not always we we need to see.

Want to show your people they are really your greatest asset. Click here to learn more. Go>

Hire Jim Woods, speakers, leadership, consultant, hr, innovationJim Woods programs drive innovation, identify opportunities, create leaders and design meaningful experiences that grow employees and delight customers. Contact us

Jim is president of InnoThink Group a human resources and leadership management consulting firm. He has an absolute passion for people development and are constantly refining and adapting his programs in order to ensure that they have the maximum impact on those we serve. – See more at: http://innothinkgroup.com/our-leadership.html

See a partial list of Jim’s clients. Hire Jim Woods to Speak  | Follow us: Facebook | Follow us: Twitter | Skype ID – jim.woods79 http://www.innothinkgroup.com

Make the Call

Call Jim at (719) 445-1204 or use this form to schedule a free phone consultation. You and he will discuss how your organizational culture operates today – and how you’d like it to operate tomorrow.

Share this Article Below

About

Jim Woods is president of The Jim Woods Group. A management consulting firm. Go here to see his work www.jimwoodsgroup.com. He advises and speaks to organizations large and small on how to increase top line growth in times of uncertainty and complexity. Some of his speaking and consulting clients include: U.S. Army, MITRE Corporation, Pitney Bowes, Whirlpool, and 3M. See more at his website www.jimwoodsgroup.com.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Change

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.