23 Ways To Pretend You’re Starting Over, Not Ending Up

live out loud

Ponder upon this quote by Veronica Rossi, “How do you restart something that had never been turned off?” Following my divorce I can recall my mother saying to me, “James, pretend you are staring over not ending up.” Which is where I leave you with a few tips. Thank you for sharing.

“Hard is trying to rebuild yourself, piece by piece, with no instruction book, and no clue as to where all the important bits are supposed to go.” Nick Hornby, A Long Way Down

There are no coincidences in life. What person that wandered in and out of your life was there for some purpose, even if they caused you harm. Shannon L. Alder

Sometimes, it doesn’t make sense the short periods of time we get with people, or the outcomes from their choices. Shannon L. Alder

However, if you turn it over to God he promises that you will see the big picture in the hereafter. Nothing is too small to be a mistake. Shannon L. Alder

A bridge of silver wings stretches from the dead ashes of an unforgiving nightmare to the jeweled vision of a life started anew.  Aberjhani

The object of a New Year is not that we should have a new year. It is that we should have a new soul.. G.K. Chesterton

So what do we do? Anything. Something. So long as we just don’t sit there. Lee Iacocca

If we screw it up, start over. Try something else. If we wait until we’ve satisfied all the uncertainties, it may be too late. – Lee Iacocca

Hearts rebuilt from hope resurrect dreams killed by hate. Aberjhani

The death of a dream can in fact serve as the vehicle that endows it with new form, with reinvigorated substance, a fresh flow of ideas.. Aberjhani

All great beginnings start in the dark, when the moon greets you to a new day at midnight.  Shannon L. Alder

Every relationship that has hit a crossroads has asked, “What is it that you want from me? Shannon L. Alder

All great beginnings start in the dark, when the moon greets you to a new day at midnight. Shannon L. Alder

Souls reconstructed with faith transform agony into peace. Aberjhani

The only real battle in life is between hanging on and letting go. Shannon L. Alder

Then came the healing time, hearts started to shine, soul felt so fine, oh what a freeing time it was. Aberjhani

That last page turned is a perfect excuse to write a whole new book. Toni Sorenson

It’s humbling to start fresh. It takes a lot of courage. But it can be reinvigorating. You just have to put your ego on a shelf. Jennifer Ritchie Payette

There is something beautiful about a blank canvas, the nothingness of the beginning that is so simple and breathtakingly pure. Piper Payne

Dr. Sandra Block writes of a personal experience:

Let’s start with number one: I was “too bad.” This point was driven home after I wrote my first book, a medical thriller. I loved my book. I sent it to fifty agents who did not love my book. So I sent it to fifty more. Which meant fifty more agents who did not love my book. After a hundred rejections, I sort of got the message: I just wasn’t good enough to get published.

Number two: I was “too old.” This excuse is simple enough, especially so long after my first failure. The mantra running inside my head went something like this. “I’m older now. My brain is too slow. My writing days are over.” And repeat. Believe me, if you say it enough times, you will eventually start to believe it.

And finally, number three: I was “too sick.” Substitute the word “tired” for sick here, and I think we can all relate. As a full-time neurologist with two kids, by the end of the day, I was tired. Damn tired.

 

Jim Woods, Tom Peters, Event Professionals, Business Mastery, leadership motivational speakers, john Maxwell, leadership development speakers, teamwork speakers, motivation speakers, leadership speakers for college

Jim Woods is a business consultant and life coach. As President of InnoThink Group Jim has worked with organizations and individuals in life changing program for more than 26 years.

If you are ready to change your life now rather than waiting for the perfect moment schedule an appointment today. Click here to talk or call 719-306-5264. Follow Jim on Twitter @jimwoods_

About

Jim Woods is president of The Jim Woods Group. A management consulting firm. Go here to see his work www.jimwoodsgroup.com. He advises and speaks to organizations large and small on how to increase top line growth in times of uncertainty and complexity. Some of his speaking and consulting clients include: U.S. Army, MITRE Corporation, Pitney Bowes, Whirlpool, and 3M. See more at his website www.jimwoodsgroup.com.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Divorce, Personal Achievement

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.