Why Christmas? The Message Not The Gift!

Jim Woods, James Woods,  Leadership Speakers, Ken Blanchard, Keynote Speaker, Keynote Speakers, Zig Ziglar

This is the best Christmas I have ever had. Certainly this isn’t officially Christmas … but is it not? You’ll see my point in my reblog of my most successful blog below and how God turned my life around. In July 2015 having planned my life precisely I lost it all in an instant on the way to Ethiopia.  Suffice it to say, I ended up in a homeless shelter in Boise, Idaho. Like many I had unwisely assumed “rock bottom” was a phrase for ne’er do wells. Nature albeit The Divine has a dry sense of humor.

I found myself without family and friends surrounded by people for whom I would have seldom if ever spoken to. This is the moment where I was compelled to step outside my pride to find God. He had already found me. Now, I had to let go and let Him.

Unlike  the people that surrounded me who had succumbed with familiarity to drugs, I had like perhaps you embraced the self medicating effects of selfishness; one upmanship. Unlike the James Stewart character in “It’s a wonderful life” I could not assume this was a dream. Or like Scrooge a case of bad beef. But, that would have wasted a good miracle. For God was performing a great feat. In the end, I see good in people everywhere. My job is to turn Christmas into my life’s act every day for every person. Here is my blog from two years ago. Let me know what you think. Jim

My bedroom was in the far corner of our home facing the cotton fields. During the winter months the stalks now barren appeared to the then 12 year old a haven for dreams and wishes that hid among the shadows. My room was always cold and I always afraid. Mom would retrieve our Christmas tree from underneath her bed. We didn’t have a chimney. In fact none of my friends had a chimney. We collectively discussed how Santa managed to enter our homes. Along with his collaborating with our parents to hand out clothes. Which I wanted as much as a road trip with my sister.

Our Christmas tree, which I have no idea where we happened to acquire it was aluminum. While I was an average student at that time I was pretty sure trees didn’t come in aluminium. Until mom assured me they did. The tree had a reflector of red, blue, orange, and green. When I went to bed I reflected on the excitement among my family and neighbors. As I knelt in my cold room I asked God if He would make Christmas last everyday. In my little mind I can recall reasoning that if Christmas was so great why not do it everyday.

Seemed logical to me. Grandmother who happened to be the spiritual inns keeper of our family said if I asked in faith it would occur. So, I wrote in “Christmas” for everyday of the year on my wall calendar. I was so excited that I wondered why hadn’t any other kid or adult thought of this. I didn’t want presents. Just that good feeling where everyone forgave each other, no one lost their temper. and everyone volunteered to do a little more.

When I slipped into bed, I laid so carefully that I could hear the snow fall on my window sill. matching beat with the beating of my 12 year old heart. There wasn’t a sound in the house. Just my heart and the snow flakes.

The next morning was the day after Christmas.  I leaped out of bed excited to see my handiwork.  Mom slid the tree under her bed. Rudeness prevailed in the neighborhood. Regular programming had ensued on television. No one  emitted “Merry Christmas.”

About

Jim Woods is president of The Jim Woods Group. A management consulting firm. Go here to see his work www.jimwoodsgroup.com. He advises and speaks to organizations large and small on how to increase top line growth in times of uncertainty and complexity. Some of his speaking and consulting clients include: U.S. Army, MITRE Corporation, Pitney Bowes, Whirlpool, and 3M. See more at his website www.jimwoodsgroup.com.

Posted in Success and Abundance

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.